1. Home
  2. Life in the UK test

Life in the UK test questions and answers 2026: 24 questions, 18 to pass

Free Life in the UK test questions and answers from the official handbook: 24 questions, 18 right to pass (75%) in 45 minutes, per GOV.UK.

questions
24
to pass (75%)
18
minutes
45
test fee
£50

Test facts checked 23 October 2026 against the official page: GOV.UK, Life in the UK Test.

A man carrying a book walks along a street of brick houses, past a red post box and a bus stop.

Your pass line

Take your first mock test and your chart starts here. It shows each score against the pass mark, and tells you when you are ready for the real test.

Pass three mock tests in a row and you are ready for the real test. Your scores are saved in this browser.

Pass mark: 18 of 24Mock 12345

Mock tests

45 mock tests written from the official handbook, Life in the United Kingdom: A Guide for New Residents, 3rd edition. 10 of them are free, each with exam mode if you want it (the real 45-minute timer, marked at the end). 24 questions each, with the same mix of chapters as the real test. Your best score stays on the tile.

Full access to the Life in the UK test

  • 35 more mock tests: 840 questions you have not seen
  • A mistakes test: every question you got wrong, asked again
  • The other chapter practice sets, and saved scores on this device
A phone showing a key and a green tick, with an open padlock beside it.
£4.99 One payment, no subscription.
Get full access, £4.99

Your code appears on screen straight after payment and is saved in this browser. Refund within 14 days. How full access works.

Practise by chapter

Practice sets of up to 20 questions on one chapter of the handbook. Set 1 of each is free; the other sets are in full access.

The Life in the UK test 2026 at a glance

Checked 23 October 2026 against the official pages linked in each row. Rules and fees change: check your own invitation or the official page before you book.

Who takes it
People applying for British citizenship or settlement (indefinite leave to remain) may need it; the guidance for your application says whether you do. You do not take it if you are under 18 or 65 or over, have passed it before, or have a long-term physical or mental condition (with an exemption form or a doctor's letter). GOV.UK
Questions
24 questions about British traditions, customs and history, all based on the official handbook. GOV.UK
Pass mark
You need 75% or more to pass, which is 18 of the 24 questions. A pass gives you a unique reference number to put on your citizenship or settlement application. GOV.UK
Time
45 minutes. GOV.UK
Cost
£50, paid by debit or credit card when you book. You get it back only if you cancel at least 3 days (72 hours) before the test or the centre cancels. GOV.UK
Booking
Online only, through the booking service linked from GOV.UK, at least 3 days ahead. There are over 30 test centres in the UK and you pick one when you book. You need an email address, a card and an accepted ID: an eVisa share code, or a valid passport, EU, Swiss, Icelandic, Liechtenstein or Norwegian ID card, travel document with a photo, or a BRP or BRC within the dates GOV.UK allows. GOV.UK
What to bring
The original of the ID you booked with, not a copy or screenshot. Your photo is taken at the centre. Without the right ID you cannot sit the test and the fee is not refunded. Children and family members cannot come in with you. GOV.UK
If you fail
Book again as many times as you need, paying the fee each time. GOV.UK does not state a waiting period between attempts. GOV.UK
Language
GOV.UK does not say which languages the test is offered in. Ask the official helpline (listed on GOV.UK) before you book if you need another language. GOV.UK
Study guide
Life in the United Kingdom: A Guide for New Residents, 3rd edition, published by TSO for the Home Office. The test only covers this book. It is not free: the official shop linked from GOV.UK sells it as a book, eBook and audio. Official Life in the UK shop
The study guide
A blue study book, a blank card, a pencil, a cup of tea and a plant on a wooden desk.

Every question is based on the official guide: Life in the United Kingdom: A Guide for New Residents.

Version in force
The current test started on 25 March 2013 with the 3rd edition of the handbook. GOV.UK announced no new edition or test change when we checked. GOV.UK

How we check these questions

  • From the official guide

    Every question is written in our own words from the official study guide, Life in the United Kingdom: A Guide for New Residents (3rd edition). We never copy the guide's paragraphs.

  • Answered again, blind

    Each of the 1,393 questions was answered again by an independent second check that had not seen our answers. Where the two disagreed, we rewrote or dropped the question. Automatic checks also make sure each question has one right answer and no duplicate.

  • Dated facts

    The test facts on this page were checked on 23 October 2026 against the official pages of Home Office.

  • Report a mistake

    Spotted a mistake? Use "Report a mistake in this question" under any answer in the mock tests, or the contact page. We correct or remove the question.

How we write and check our questions

Common questions

How many questions are in the Life in the UK test?

24 questions about British traditions, customs and history, all based on the official handbook.

What is the Life in the UK test pass mark?

You need 75% or more to pass, which is 18 of the 24 questions. A pass gives you a unique reference number to put on your citizenship or settlement application.

How many questions can you get wrong on the Life in the UK test?

You can get up to 6 wrong: you need 18 of the 24 questions right (75%), per GOV.UK.

How much does the Life in the UK test cost?

£50, paid by debit or credit card when you book. You get it back only if you cancel at least 3 days (72 hours) before the test or the centre cancels. Source: GOV.UK

Is there a free Life in the UK practice test for 2026?

Yes. 10 full mock tests on this site are free for 2026, with no account, each marked against the official pass mark of 18 of 24 (75%), and each with exam mode if you want it (the real 45-minute timer, marked at the end).

Are these the real Life in the UK test questions?

No. Nobody outside the Home Office has the real questions. Ours are written from the same guide, in the same format, and checked against it. If you can pass our mock tests, you know the material.

What happens if you fail the Life in the UK test?

Book again as many times as you need, paying the fee each time. GOV.UK does not state a waiting period between attempts.

How long is the Life in the UK test?

45 minutes.

How many mock tests should I pass before the real test?

Pass three mock tests in a row. The pass line chart on this page tells you when you have.

Do I need an account?

No. Your scores are saved in this browser on this device. Full access is a code you enter once, with no account and no subscription. The code appears on screen straight after payment.